Galway Girl – Today’s classic song and a couple of very traditional covers plus another song with the same name. #MusicisLife #TedTocksCovers #StPatricksDay #SteveEarle #SharonShannon #Mundy #EdSheeran

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! It is hard to believe that it has been 19 years since today’s feature song was released. ‘Galway Girl’ is Steve Earle’s ode to an enchanting Irish lady who captured his heart with her captivating black hair and stunning blue eyes. He relates the story behind an Irish backdrop. This combined with the Celtic instrumentation makes ‘Galway Girl’ my choice for today’s St. Paddy’s Day celebration.

The inspiration for ‘Galway Girl’ was Irish musician Joyce Redmond. The 2000 release came out of a period of prolific songwriting for Steve Earle. He had rediscovered the greatness of the Beatles, Revolver album and the excitement of building his own studio opened the door to a lot of experimentation. The result was ‘Transcendental Blues’ which Steve Earle enthusiasts would rate as one of his best albums. The rollicking Irish jig is one of many great songs on this diverse album. In just over three minutes Earle takes you on an emotional tour of his latest infatuation. The irony here is Steve Earle has been married seven times. Falling in love has never been a challenge for Earle. ‘Galway Girl’ is enhanced by the quality musicianship that includes Redmond herself on bodhran, Sharon Shannon on accordion, Mary Shannon on banjo, Liz and Yvonne Kane on fiddle, Bill Wright on bouzouki and Dan Gillis on tin whistle. I list these members of the group because they add so much to the authenticity. ‘Galway Girl’ emerged as a notable selection from the album that was nominated for a Grammy in the Best Contemporary Folk Album Category.

Ironically, Joyce Redmond was not from Galway. She was a native of Howth County, Dublin. That just didn’t have the same ring to it.

Here are the lyrics to this beautiful song:

Well, I took a stroll on the old long walk 
Of a day-I-ay-I-ay 
I met a little girl and we stopped to talk 
Of a fine soft day-I-ay-I-ay 
And I ask you, friend, what’s a fella to do?
‘Cause her hair was black and her eyes were blue 
And I knew right then I’d be takin’ a whirl 
‘Round the Salthill Prom with a Galway girlWe were halfway there when the rain came down 
Of a day-I-ay-I-ay 
She asked me up to her flat downtown 
Of a fine soft day-I-ay-I-ay 
And I ask you, friend, what’s a fella to do?
‘Cause her hair was black and her eyes were blue 
I took her hand and I gave her a twirl 
And I lost my heart to a Galway girl 
When I woke up I was all alone 
With a broken heart and a ticket home 
And I ask you now, tell me what would you do 
If her hair is black and her eyes were blue 
I’ve traveled around, I’ve been all over this world 
Boys, I ain’t never seen nothin’ like a Galway girl

On the Emerald Isle ‘Galway Girl’ became a favourite as well. So much so, that Sharon Shannon and Mundy recorded a version in 2008 that became a monstrous hit in their home country. Not only is ‘Galway Girl’ the eighth highest selling song in Irish chart history, it is one of the most covered songs and a favourite of musicians of all styles, who love to apply their interpretations. The Mundy version spent five weeks on the Irish singles chart. Irish eyes were smiling even more when Mundy recorded a version of the song in Irish language and added it to a native compilation which was released to raise money for Irish charities.

Here is a live version. It sends chills. Between the musicianship, the story and the enthusiastic audience you feel like you are walking along The Long Walk with your very own ‘Galway Girl’. Just beautiful.

Here is the ‘Irish’ version for St. Patrick’s Day traditionalists.

“Kiss the wearer o’ the green”.

“The future is not ours to know, and it may never be- so let us live and give our best and give it lavishly!”

As a quick aside here is ‘Galway Girl’ by the immensely talented Ed Sheeran. A totally different song but the same title.

Kudos to Sheeran on a fantastic song that pays homage to traditional Irish music and blends the talents of an Irish folk band called Beoga. The more I listen to Ed Sheeran, the more I like him.