Afterimage – Suddenly you were gone from all the lives you left your mark upon #MusicisLife #TedTocksCovers #Rush #NeilPeart #MikeMasse #KyleHume

Today’s feature is a brief reflection on a friend who is missed by many.

It is a rare Ted Tocks Covers double shot. Very few of the words are mine. This is by design, because truth be told, nothing I share in this post is unique to me.

The purpose is to share how one person had a huge impact on so many people. As I so often say #MusicisLife, and through these two songs hopefully we will remember someone we hold close to our collective heart.

People on the outside looking in will likely be able to relate these feelings to someone they hold dear.

And on it goes…This is what makes music a universal language…Therapy for the soul.

Oftentimes, when words fail to come, music fills the space. Today’s song features the lyrics of Neil Peart, who so often found a way to relate to a mass audience through his contemplative prose.

Everyone has their song.

Some have many.

This is my song.

One of many.

Suddenly, you were gone
From all the lives you left your mark upon

I remember
How we talked and drank into the misty dawn
I hear the voices

We ran by the water on the wet summer lawn
I see the footprints
I remember

I feel the way you would
I feel the way you would

Tried to believe but you know it’s no good
This is something that just can’t be understood

I remember
The shouts of joy skiing fast through the woods
I hear the echoes

I learned your love for life,
I feel the way that you would
I feel your presence
I remember

I feel the way you would
This just can’t be understood…

I Remember

This is something that just can’t be understood.”

Neil Peart

I feel the way you would…

This is something that just can’t be understood…

I learned your love for life…

I feel the echo of your laughter…

I feel your presence…

Now take all these lines and switch the word I to WE.

WE learned your love for life…

WE feel the echo of your laughter…

WE feel your presence…

YOU touched us all.

YOU are dearly missed

Admittedly, Rush may not be for everyone, but take a moment and listen to this adaptation by Mike Masse. The piano rendition is absolutely perfect. Fittingly, Masse composed this cover as a tribute to Neil Peart in early 2020.

Now for a little change of direction. We are left to contemplate things we could have said and done if we would have known. This is a natural sentiment. In this song appropriately entitled ‘If I Would Have Known’ Kyle Hume speaks to this theme.

This song was shared to me by one of Alistair’s countless friends. Just one of many, to whom he gave so much of his time…just to listen…and laugh.

Here are the lyrics.

I still see you in
The places we would go
Like your face is painted on the walls
I’ve been trying to forget
All the moments that we spent
‘Cause now I do it on my own
Oh you and I were like the summer
But now it’s winter here on my own

If I would have known
That you wouldn’t be here anymore
I would have made the moments last a little longer
‘Cause now I’m alone
And you’re just a memory in my mind
I would have given anything to say goodbye
If I would have known
If I would have known

I remember how
We would laugh all the time
But now you’re not around
And I’m just trying to find
Something else to fill the empty spaces you left behind
But nothing ever seems to work
I’ve been thinking ’bout
The things that you used to say
Even not around
You’re in my head every day
But it’s fine I don’t mind
I promise I’ll be okay

If I would have known
That you wouldn’t be here anymore
I would have made the moments last a little longer
‘Cause now I’m alone
And you’re just a memory in my mind
I would have given anything to say goodbye
If I would have known
If I would have known”

Kyle Hume

I leave you with this.

There is nothing sadder than a song that fades out to soon, one whose melody is left unresolved. The volume suddenly dies and you strain to hear it for a bit longer but it’s gone, and you feel cheated out of the beautiful music that was coming. “

John Pavlovitz

The song is YOU.

WE remember.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.