Heart Shaped Box – Today’s classic song and an energetic cover. #MusicisLife #TedTocksCovers #KurtCobain #Nirvana #FatherJohnMisty

It’s hard to believe it has been 25 years since Kurt Cobain was found dead in his Seattle home. Cobain’s death was listed as suicide from a shotgun blast, but the high volume of heroin and traces of valium have shrouded the cause of death in some degree of mystery. Many consider the combination of dubious circumstances surrounding Cobain’s death as evidence to something more sinister, but the death certificate was officially listed as a suicide. A note found with Cobain read;

“I haven’t felt the excitement of listening to as well as creating music, along with really writing…for too many years now.”

The significance of today’s song, ‘Heart Shaped Box’ has multiple branches. I will focus on a handful because they are intriguing to say the least.

Most ominously, ‘Heart Shaped Box’ has the distinction of being the last song Nirvana performed live. It was the set closer during a March 1st concert in Munich, Germany. The early 1994 tour was slated to run longer but Cobain had come down with a serious case of bronchitis. He was seriously worn out and he was straining to perform at all. He was also in a declining mental and emotional state which was evidenced in the suicide note cited above.

By all indications the final show was solid if not a little short, coming in at less than an hour and a half. Cobain powered through his voice issues and the band played a strong set. Here is the audio of ‘Heart Shaped Box’.

The second interesting aspect of ‘Heart Shaped Box’ stems from its lyrics and evolution from idea to recording. In short, it was never easy, and it was definitely put on the shelf for a while. According to Courtney Love the song was born out of a riff Cobain was working on in their house in the Hollywood Hills. Love was drawn in by the sound Cobain emerging from the closet upstairs and asked if she could use it for a Hole song. According to the enigmatic singer, Cobain’s response was a curt “Fuck off”, and he closed the door in her face. In its original state ‘Heart Shaped Box’ was titled ‘Heart Shaped Coffin’. All this is a long way of noting that essentially the song is a dark ode to Courtney Love and their complicated relationship. Here are the lyrics.

She eyes me like a Pisces when I am weak
I’ve been locked inside your heart-shaped box for weeks
I’ve been drawn into your magnetar pit trap trap
I wish I could eat your cancer when you turn black

Hey!
Wait!
I’ve got a new complaint
Forever in debt to your priceless advice
Hey!
Wait!
I’ve got a new complaint
Forever in debt to your priceless advice
Hey!
Wait!
I’ve got a new complaint
Forever in debt to your priceless advice, your advice

Meat-eating orchids forgive no one just yet
Cut myself on angel hair and baby’s breath
Broken hymen of your Highness, I’m left back
Throw down your umbilical noose so I can climb right back

Hey!
Wait!
I’ve got a new complaint
Forever in debt to your priceless advice
Hey!
Wait!
I’ve got a new complaint
Forever in debt to your priceless advice
Hey!
Wait!
I’ve got a new complaint
Forever in debt to your priceless advice, your advice

She eyes me like a Pisces when I am weak
I’ve been locked inside your heart-shaped box for weeks
I’ve been drawn into your magnetar pit trap trap
I wish I could eat your cancer when you turn black

Hey!
Wait!
I’ve got a new complaint
Forever in debt to your priceless advice
Hey!
Wait!
I’ve got a new complaint
Forever in debt to your priceless advice
Hey!
Wait!
I’ve got a new complaint
Forever in debt to your priceless advice, your advice, your advice, your advice

It is a dark and sardonic trip. The “Forever in debt to your priceless advice” can be interpreted in so many ways and it speaks to the turmoil that Kurt Cobain was enduring both personally and professionally.


‘Heart Shaped Box’ was released in September of 1993 and despite its original strategy focusing on college stations, as well as album oriented rock and modern rock formats, it became a hit in the mainstream. Eventually it hit #1 on the Billboard Chart. ‘Heart Shaped Box’ exists among the finest of Nirvana’s many great offerings.

The final item I want to focus on relates to the suitably dark video that was released in conjunction with ‘Heart Shaped Box’. Kurt Cobain is on record as saying that one of his influences for writing the song was watching a documentary about kids fighting cancer. The show struck him with a profound sadness and empathy. This line speaks to that point.

“I wish I could eat your cancer when you turn black.”

This sentiment gives the song an underlying dark tone, but it can also be equated to his relationship with the unpredictable character of Courtney Love. The resulting clinical theme gives rise to the choice of video setting. It begins and ends with Nirvana sitting in a hospital room watching an elderly man being administered an IV drip. As the song progresses the viewer is taken to a surreal outdoor setting that resembles The Wizard of Oz. The man from the hospital is now wearing a Santa hat and hanging on a cross, while being stalked by crows. The imagery is very foreboding.

As the scene described above unfolds a six year old girl is introduced to the setting. She is wearing a white robe and a peaked cap in reference to the Ku Klux Klan. She is shown reaching up into a tree of fetuses. This is a clear portrayal of loss of innocence and offers yet another glimpse into the complexities of Kurt Cobain, his thought processes and deep rooted issues that go back to his own formative days. An interesting aside to the presence of the young girl, whose name is Kelsey Rohr is, in early 2016 Nirvana drummer and current Foo Fighter, Dave Grohl arranged for a meeting between the two. Here is a brief account from that meeting before I move on to today’s cover.

Dave Grohl has a reputation of being the ‘nice guy of rock and roll’. In 2016 Grohl reached out to Rohr and arranged for the two to reunite, 23 years after the shooting of the video. Rohr was thrilled with the meeting and she shared it on her Instagram page.

“Today Dave Grohl and I picked up right where we left off 23 years ago on the set of Nitvana’s last video, ‘Heart Shaped Box’. Today reminded me that I peaked at 6 years old BUT I was the most badass kid on the playground. Today was the absolute coolest. Or in Dave’s words, seeing each other today was a historic moment. What a legend!”

A nice moment between the two and truly a demonstration of the classy performer Dave Grohl continues to be. There are many stories of him reaching out to fans.

For today’s cover I moved away from some potential studio performances of ‘Heart Shaped Box’ in favour of this live presentation by Father John Misty. It just grabbed me. His ability to present the angst in his delivery personifies live music. The audience is right there for the ride. This guy is another must listen. Enjoy!