Over the Hills and Far Away – Many times I’ve gazed along the open road. #MusicisLife #TedTocksCovers #LedZeppelin #RobertPlant #JimmyPage #CarlDixon #GovtMule #GretchenWilson

As you may have guessed, my social media pages are dominated by posts related to music and pages paying homage to many, many acts that have inspired me through the years. Quite often within this array of quality reading an astute reader shares a meme that lists a litany of great albums that were released 50 years ago this year. I always do my best to clip and save these but like a squirrel gathering acorns each fall, I tend to lose track of where I stash these useful items.

That’s where I can count on my friend Brian. He is always quick to fire these informative pieces my way. This was his favourite era of music, so quite often I am blessed with a story about his memories of that time.

Brian is the only guy I know who saw Led Zeppelin live. It was while they were touring ‘Led Zeppelin II’ and unveiling material for ‘Led Zeppelin III’ to their rapidly growing followers.

It is certainly debatable, but it says here, that the era from 1965 to 1975 is the best period of music. As I continue to write Ted Tocks Covers I frequently go back to significant dates within this time, and feature related songs and artists. So naturally, when I referenced this particular list of 1973 releases, I was pleased to note that one of my favourite albums ever would turn 50 years on this day.

I am talking about ‘Houses of the Holy’ by Led Zeppelin. My personal Zep fave, although the debate rages in my mind and the order can be easily swayed on any given day, depending on what album I am listening to.

…But if pressed I give the nod to this one.

So, speaking to ‘Houses of the Holy’ hitting the half century mark today’s feature will be the reflective classic ‘Over the Hills and Far Away’.

In this song, Robert Plant speaks to the allure of the hippie lifestyle, but it comes from a desire to settle down rather than the more hedonistic approach presented on ‘Misty Mountain Hop’ which was released on Led Zeppelin’s previous album.

The songwriter speaks to the object of his affection with a degree of certainty. She is the one. He has seen a lot. It was never easy, but he weathered the storm and he knows it is time to settle down, somewhere over the hills and far away (maybe they will pack their bags and head to the misty mountains), where they can be alone to enjoy each other’s company.

Wherever the spirit flows…

The writing of ‘Over the Hills and Far Away’ goes back to the time the group spent writing songs at the cottage known as ‘Bron-Y-Aur‘ in Wales. In its early state ‘Over the Hills and Far Away was known as ‘Many Many Times’

For fans of Led Zeppelin the attraction to ‘Over the Hills and Far Away’ is in the layers of guitar offered by Jimmy Page. As always, the guitar legend puts on a clinic of perfectly blended tracks. The classic riff and general strumming pattern has roots in the instrumental piece known as ‘White Summer’ which can be traced all the way back to Page’s time in The Yardbirds. Here is a somewhat grainy clip that features the revered guitarist performing the instrumental that evolved into the foundation for the lyrics Robert Plant dreamed up for ‘Over the Hills and Far Away’. Plant and Page were certainly in tune.

It is also clear that this instrumental merged into ‘Black Mountain Side’ which appeared on Led Zeppelin’s debut album.

To note how ‘Over the Hills and Far Away’ developed, listen to this live version which predates ‘Houses of the Holy’ by several months.

Over time, ‘Over the Hills and Far Away’ became an opportunity for the entire band to shine. This occurred on the wings of Jimmy Pages guitar work and Robert Plant’s lyrics which are thought to have been inspired to some degree by this poem from J.R.R. Tolkien from a piece also known as ‘Over Old Hills and Far Away’.

Here is one stanza.

I leapt o’er the stream and I sped from the glade,
For Tinfang Warble it was that played;
I must follow the hoot of his twilight flute
Over reed, over rush, under branch, over root,
And over dim fields, and through rustling grasses
That murmur and nod as the old elf passes,
Over old hills and far away
Where the harps of the 
Elevenfolk softly play.”

J.R.R. Tolkien

There is also a passage in the 18th century play ‘The Beggar’s Opera’ by John Gay where two lovers enjoy this exchange.

…Soon as the burning day was closed,

I could mock the sultry toil

When on my charmer’s breast reposed.

Mac. And I would love you all the day,

Polly. Every night would kiss and play,

Mac. If with me you’d fondly stray

Polly. Over the hills, and far away.”

John Gay – The Beggar’s Opera

It may have been a combination of these two influences that Robert Plant modified his brief piece to speak to a theme of love, and a longing to move to a better place.

Hey, lady, you got the love I need
Maybe more than enough
Oh, darling, darling, darling, walk a while with me
Oh, you’ve got so much, so much, so much

Many have I loved, and many times been bitten
Many times I’ve gazed along the open road
Many times I’ve lied and many times I’ve listened
Many times I’ve wondered how much there is to know
Many dreams come true, and some have silver linings
I live for my dream and a pocketful of gold

Mellow is the man who knows what he’s been missing
Many, many men can’t see the open road
Many is a word that only leaves you guessing
Guessing ’bout a thing you really ought to know, oh, oh, oh, oh!
Really ought to know (oh, oh, oh)
I really ought to know
Oh, you know I should, you know I should
You know I should’ve known”

Robert Plant

In this clip from Led Zeppelin’s acclaimed 1973 United States tour Page expands a little on the introduction, which harkens back to its ‘White Summer’ roots to some degree. This version did not make the cut on the original release of ‘The Song Remains the Same’ live album or concert video, but it was released as part of a fantastic re-issue package in 2007.

In the years following its release ‘Over the Hills and Far Away’ was a set list standard for Led Zeppelin for its ability to bring the audience to a place where you could hear a pin drop, before exploding into a cacophony of everything that made Led Zeppelin the standard for the heavy metal genre for 50 plus years and counting.

This is how it all starts. With a dream.”

Robert Plant

Here is one more version; this from 1975, live from Earl’s Court.

Clearly a band who enjoys the status of Led Zeppelin have had countless critics and music writers write about their creativity and describe the attraction. This passage from Andrew Unterberger of Spin lays down the premise that ‘Over the Hills and Far Away’ is Led Zeppelin’s best song.

(It) best demonstrates just about everything the band does well: the unforgettable and impossible-to-pin-down opening riff, the life-affirming transition from acoustic to electric, the constant switches in tone and dynamic, the piercing solo with double-tracked climax, the impeccable interplay of guitar, bass, and drum, the inimitable Plant shrieking, the gorgeous coda, even the super-oblique title”

Andrew Unterberger

One thing for sure. ‘Over the Hills and Far Away’ does combine every element that makes Led Zeppelin one of the greatest acts to ever grace a concert stage, or lay down their creativity in a studio.

Here are three more Ted Tocks Covers features that allude to ‘Houses of the Holy’.

First, we have ‘The Song Remains the Same’ which in this writer’s opinion may be one of the best album opening tracks ever recorded. The way it builds…

Then they follow with the Page/Plant masterpiece ‘The Rain Song’.

To conclude this portion of the program, enjoy the mastery of the great John Paul Jones in this opus known as ‘No Quarter’.

Upon reflection, I think the reason I hold ‘Houses of the Holy’ in such high regard is the fact that John Paul Jones shines to such a degree. He has always been my favourite among this quartet.

As music fans wind on down the road they are able to take in any number of tributes to Led Zeppelin either in style or direct tributes through covers of songs from their catalogue. There are so many that there is a page on Wikipedia devoted to it, and truth be told, it only scratches the surface. Here it is, from ‘Achilles Last Stand’ to ‘Your Time is Gonna Come’

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_cover_versions_of_Led_Zeppelin_songs#O

As much as the site above helped in some way, it was scrolling through YouTube and reading fan reviews that helped me track down some quality covers of ‘Over the Hills and Far Away’.

To begin, Canadian music fans may remember Coney Hatch from the early ‘80s. They were produced by Kim Mitchell of Max Webster fame and they showed a ton of promise before personnel issues caused the band to deteriorate. Here is guitarist/lead vocalist Carl Dixon doing a quality acoustic cover of ‘Over the Hills and Far Away’ on his 2003 album ‘One Voice Two Hands’. This is really good folks. Read on for an added item that speaks to a story of resilience and how music saved a man’s life.

After the initial demise of Coney Hatch (they are in fact still alive and kicking), Carl Dixon went on to play with two legendary Canadian acts. He was part of April Wine from 2001 to 2004 and the Guess Who from 1997 to 2008. Carl Dixon’s life in music kept him busy and he toured the world over, sharing his passion. It was while on tour in Australia in 2008, that Dixon was involved in a horrific car accident. He suffered a lengthy list of injuries and was left in a coma. Perhaps he was inspired by the words of close friend and bandmate Andy Curran who shared these words over the phone while he lay in a coma.

The Hatch still has some more rocking to do. You gotta survive.”

Andy Curran

His story of survival and recovery is inspiring, and following a significant period of time in rehab he has gone on to become an inspirational speaker. In addition to this, Dixon has chronicled his life in music in the book ‘A Strange Way to Live’. Through it all, he still writes and records, most recently a country album in 2017 called ‘Whole Nother Thing’ as well as writing instrumentals for TV shows. This promo clip shares elements of his powerful story.

Moving on to another favourite, Gov’t Mule comes up often in Ted Tocks Covers, and with good reason. Everything they do is just so good. There are few better than Warren Haynes. He just does everything so well. Best of all, he stays within himself. Never any pretence.

Here is another name that has come in Ted Tocks Covers. Enjoy Gretchen Wilson from her 2013 album ‘Under the Covers’.

There are few bands that exemplify my love of music from the earliest days as much as Led Zeppelin. I recall my first listening experience as being enthralled by the anthem ‘Stairway to Heaven’. It was on Toronto AM radio station CFTR doing one of those top 500 songs of all time presentations over an Easter weekend in the mid ‘70s. In what became moderately cliché this Zeppelin track came in at #1. It served a purpose though. It left an indelible mark. I needed to learn more and before long I was spinning ‘Led Zeppelin IV’ on my own cheap little turntable at every opportunity.

From Robert Plant’s vocal on ‘Black Dog’ to his proclamation at the end of ‘When the Levee Breaks’ that we were going to Chicago, I was along for the ride.

What he meant was we were going to the proverbial home of the blues. Figuratively, Led Zeppelin was my introduction to Memphis Minnie, Howlin’ Wolf, John Lee Hooker and Willie Dixon.

How important is that?

My musical journey has taken me down a lot of roads, and many a day I travel without a map. Somehow, I know that if I stay on the road I’m on it will take me over the hills and far way, where ultimately I will find myself listening to Led Zeppelin.

5 thoughts on “Over the Hills and Far Away – Many times I’ve gazed along the open road. #MusicisLife #TedTocksCovers #LedZeppelin #RobertPlant #JimmyPage #CarlDixon #GovtMule #GretchenWilson

  1. Going back to the roots has such a “refurbishing” element to it; stripping away the aches and pains ordinary life has bestowed upon us and refreshing the spirit with the invincibility of the “mind and body” of those long ago years

    From my youth in the late 60’s, this Michigan band SRC was a precursor to the prog rock that groups like Yes became

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is definitely one of my favorite Led Zeppelin songs. The buildup into the hard rock drop is just so cool, and I think it really encompasses the aura and themes of 70s rock in a 5 minute package.

    Glad to see another writer who likes it as much as I do!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.