I Thank You – Two simple words that make a huge difference. #MusicisLife #TedTocksCovers #SamandDave #IsaacHayes #DavidPorter #WilliamBell #MavisStaples #MarilynMcCoo #BillyDavisJr #ZZTop #BonnieRaitt #BonJovi #TowerofPower #TomJones #PaulRodgers

I want everybody to get up off your seat and get your arms together and your hands together and give me some of that old soul clapping.”

Sam Moore

This is the request that greeted listeners on Sam and Dave’s final recording for Stax Records. ‘I Thank You’ is a classic soul tune written by the immortal songwriting team of David Porter and Isaac Hayes (see ‘Hold On, I’m Coming’ and ‘Soul Man’). Sam Moore delivers the introduction like a preacher on a Sunday morning, while backing vocalists, Ollie and the Nightingales offers ‘I Thank You’ during the refrain, where it truly becomes a religious experience. Not to be outdone, David Prater joins in with his distinct style as the song unfolds. Sitting back and listening to ‘I Thank You’ over a half century later, one still marvels at the true emotion of this soul masterpiece.

It truly is a soul sermon. A way for a listener to express their thanks. Especially one who feels a little humbled by the positive forces that surround them on a daily basis. It is this gratitude that allows the message to shine through.

The message resonated in the early part of 1968 as ‘I Thank You’ reached #9 on the Billboard Pop Singles chart and #4 on the R&B chart. As an interesting aside ‘I Thank You’ was released on the same day as Otis Redding’s ‘(Sittin’ on) the Dock of the Bay’.

Beyond the songwriting tandem, and the sheer emotion of the vocal delivery we must recall the brilliance of Booker T and the MGs, who resided as the Stax house band. This ensemble features the unique patterns presented by Al Jackson on drums who was asked by David Porter to “bring the horses” which was his way of accenting every third hit on the snare. The guitar work is yet another work of art by the legendary Steve Cropper, and the aforementioned Isaac Hayes plays the clavinet. To top it all off we get Donald ‘Duck’ Dunn on bass and the talents of the Mar-Keys horn section.

The combination of talent just keeps on coming, and it lends itself to the song’s timelessness. These many virtues did not go unnoticed by the plethora of artists who have opted to cover ‘I Thank You’ over the years. Here is a sample of the musicians who have recorded ‘I Thank You’ with some very pleasing results.

The covers began almost immediately when William Bell and Mavis Staples produced a version in 1969 on their album ‘Boy Meets Girl’. Bell and Staples are joined by the great Eddie Floyd among others (see ‘Knock on Wood’). This is just a sample of the great things to come as you read and listen on, but it is difficult to find superlatives to describe this combination of vocals and instrumentation. Just listen…You will see what I mean.

About a decade after the original release Marilyn McCoo and Billy Davis Jr. (see ‘Saving All My Love for You’) recorded this heartfelt duet. It really works well as the pair present it in a conversational style.

Like many of my generation, I was introduced to ‘I Thank You’ by the incomparable ZZ Top. Here is ‘I Thank You’ Texas style. It just goes to show that Texas still has some redeeming qualities. This cover is authentic in many ways. ZZ Top was recording their album ‘Deguello’ at Ardent Studios in Memphis in the late ‘70s when guitarist Billy Gibson heard ‘I Thank You’ on the car radio while driving to the studio. As fate would have it, when the band arrived at the studio, they discovered that the same clavinet Isaac Hayes used to record the original was in the studio. The result is right here. It was recorded as a Thank You to their fans and their new record label, Warner Bros. Records.

That same year, another Ted Tocks favourite recorded ‘I Thank You’. Enjoy this version by Bonnie Raitt from her album ‘The Glow’. What a treat.

Let’s move on to the ‘90s and a quality version by Bon Jovi. In recent days I have begun to come around to this prolific artist. There is a lot of substance behind the style.

Another legend has taken a couple of shots at ‘I Thank You’. Tom Jones initially recorded ‘I Thank You’ in 1970 on his appropriately titled album ‘Tom’. Four decades later the famously knighted Sir Tom Jones recorded ‘I Thank You’ accompanied by the infinitely talented Tower of Power. This is from the band’s 2009 album ‘Great American Soulbook’. Another source of incredible covers that comes highly recommended.

The final gem to explore in today’s series of musical diamonds is this 2014 offering from the extraordinary vocalist Paul Rodgers. This is from his album ‘The Royal Sessions’ which literally exists as a salute to the artists who brought us Memphis soul. It’s right there in the liner notes.

To the ladies and gentleman of Memphis Soul, I Thank You”

Paul Rodgers

Enjoy the lyrics as you listen along to the many great versions of this soul classic.

You didn’t have to love me like you did
But you did, but you did.
And I thank you.
You didn’t have to love me like you did
But you did, but you did.
And I thank you.
But you took your love to someone else
I wouldn’t know what it meant to be loved to death

You made me feel like I’ve never felt
Kisses so good I had to holler for help
You didn’t have to squeeze it but you did
But you did but you did
And I thank you.
You didn’t have to hold it but you did
But you did but you did
And I thank you.

Every day was something new,
You put on your bag and your fine to-do
You got me trying new things too
Just so I can keep up with you.

You didn’t have to shake it but you did
But you did but you did
And I thank you.
You didn’t have to make it like you did
but you did but you did
And I thank you.

All my life I’ve been shortchanged
Without your love baby it’s a crying shame
But now I know what the fellas talking about
Hear me say that they been turned out
I want to thank you
I want to thank you
I want to thank you
Yes, I want to thank you

Isaac Hayes and David Porter

Sometimes in life, everything one says and does can be measured by the sincerity conveyed using two simple words.

Thank you!

While there may be a lot of turbulence surrounding us all, we can’t forget to express our appreciation for those who exist in our inner circle. The love will only flow outward from there.

Hopefully it will all catch on.

One thought on “I Thank You – Two simple words that make a huge difference. #MusicisLife #TedTocksCovers #SamandDave #IsaacHayes #DavidPorter #WilliamBell #MavisStaples #MarilynMcCoo #BillyDavisJr #ZZTop #BonnieRaitt #BonJovi #TowerofPower #TomJones #PaulRodgers

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.