Wild is the Wind – Let the wind blow through your heart. #MusicisLife #TedTocksCovers #JohnnyMathis #NinaSimone #ShirleyHorn #BarbraStreisand #GeorgeMichael #DavidBowie

Over the past 287 days readers of Ted Tocks might have recognized that I am a big fan of the lyrical side of songwriting. As noted, I am fascinated by the songwriting process but I am frequently drawn to what the artist is trying to say. I love the poetry. Today’s song is ‘Wild is the Wind’ that was brought to my attention by my friend Jeremy who is a connoisseur of good music. Not only is he a fan, he is a versatile performer who plays professionally as an original artist and a handful of impressive tribute acts. When he reached out to me to suggest ‘Wild is the Wind’ I was duly intrigued and based on what I discovered I wanted to share it in this feature. This will occur not only as a shout out to Jeremy but also as a salute to a song with a rich history that speaks to the artform that we know as songwriting.

Before we move on let these words take hold of you as you listen to the song. You can almost feel the song.

Love me, love me, love me, love me
Say you do
Let me fly away
With you
For my love is like
The wind
And wild is the wind
Wild is the wind
Give me more
Than one caress
Satisfy this
Hungriness
Let the wind
Blow through your heart
For wild is the wind
Wild is the wind
You
Touch me
I hear the sound
Of mandolins
You
Kiss me
With your kiss
My life begins
You’re spring to me
All things
To me
Don’t you know you’re
Life itself
Like a leaf clings
To the tree
Oh my darling,
Cling to me
For we’re like creatures
Of the wind
Wild is the wind
Wild is the wind
You
Touch me
I hear the sound
Of mandolins
You
Kiss me
With your kiss
My life begins
You’re spring to me
All things
To me
Don’t you know you’re
Life itself
Like a leaf clings
To the tree
Oh my darling,
Cling to me
For we’re like creatures
In the wind
And wild is the wind
Wild is the wind
Wild is the wind
Wild is the wind
Wild is the wind

Dimitri Tiomkin and Ned Washington

The original version of ‘Wild is the Wind’ was recorded by Johnny Mathis for the 1957 motion picture of the same name. The beauty of the song that was written by Dimitri Tiomkin and Ned Washington was immediately apparent to the audience and it garnered an Academy Award nomination. Mathis actually performed it during the 1958 Oscars.

From this impressive beginning ‘Wild is the Wind’ has been like a musical baton over a sixty year journey that has seen a series of some of the finest performers ever perform the song.

Versatile singer, songwriter, composer and civil rights activist Nina Simone loved ‘Wild is the Wind’ so much she recorded it twice. It was a staple of her live set for many years beginning with a live recording that appeared on Nina Simone at Town Hall in 1959 and then a studio version was released on an album appropriately called ‘Wild is the Wind’ in 1966.

American jazz singer and pianist Shirley Horn also recorded two versions of the song during her distinguished career. The first was on a studio album called ‘Embers and Ashes’ in 1960 and then in 1992 she recorded a live version with a full orchestra on her ‘Here’s to Life’ album. Here is that version blended with ‘Come a Little Closer’.

Barbra Streisand released an album of motion picture classics in 2003 called ‘The Movie Album’. ‘Wild is the Wind’ was featured among twelve of the widely adored singer’s absolute favourites and the recording is stunning as it also includes full orchestration along with Streisand’s distinct vocals.

Now we move into more contemporary territory for me. The versatile George Michael released a version of ‘Wild is the Wind’ on a 1999 tribute CD that saw the talented singer record ‘Songs from the Last Century’. This is a brilliant performance that provides a clear example of what an amazing voice this gentleman possessed through his distinguished career. Another artist gone way too soon.

Finally, we arrive at the incomparable David Bowie who released his version of ‘Wild is the Wind’ in 1976 on his ‘Station to Station’ album. It served as the B side to the ‘Golden Years’ release. Bowie was a long time admirer of Nina Simone’s vocals and her style. After meeting her in Los Angeles he vowed to honour her by recording one of her songs and what you hear is the result. This recording closes out the album in a powerful way and sent a message that he had many more years of artistic brilliance to come. Five years later he released the song again as a lead single for his ‘ChangestwoBowie’ compilation album. ‘Wild is the Wind’ is a beautiful Bowie recording that combines many of the elements that made him the masterful performer that he was celebrated for being when he too, unfortunately passed away too early at the age of only 69. Somehow, because of his style and elegance I could never reconcile that he could have been that old.

2 thoughts on “Wild is the Wind – Let the wind blow through your heart. #MusicisLife #TedTocksCovers #JohnnyMathis #NinaSimone #ShirleyHorn #BarbraStreisand #GeorgeMichael #DavidBowie

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.